Best answer: How many London Underground stations are south of the river?

And the reality is that South London just doesn’t have that many tube stops: there are 250 stations on the north side of the river, and only 29 stations on the south side.

How many tube stations are south of the Thames?

While there are over 250 stations north of the River Thames there are just 29 to the south.

What is the most southern underground station?

Morden is a London Underground station in Morden in the London Borough of Merton. The station is the southern terminus for the Northern line Morden Branch and is ironically the most southerly station on the Underground network, despite being on the Northern Line.

How many London Underground stations are above ground?

There are 270 stations on the Tube network, but more than half are actually above ground, with the Victoria and Waterloo and City lines being the only lines that are wholly underground.

IMPORTANT:  Can you drop off at London City Airport?

What stations are in South London?

Top 10 South London Train Stations

  • 10 – Forest Hill. Shock, horror, hold the front page – Forest Hill has made the top 10. …
  • 9 – Penge East. If you’re like us, then you wouldn’t have expected Penge East to make this list, but it did. …
  • 8 – Clapham Junction. …
  • 7 – London Bridge. …
  • 6 – Waterloo. …
  • 2 – Denmark Hill. …
  • 1 – Crystal Palace.

Why are there no tube stations in south London?

When the first private tube companies began operating after 1863, they focused on north London, where there was more opportunity. … So the lack of south London tube stations came about because, once upon a time, that side of the river was actually better connected. Just remember that next time your train gets delayed.

How many London Underground stations are there?

London Underground, better known as the Tube, has 11 lines covering 402km and serving 272 stations.

Where did the soil from the London Underground go?

It’s certainly true in London, where the soil, spoil and detritus of the city has for centuries been put to good effect. As part of the Crossrail dig, excavated earth was transported over to Wallasea Island in Essex as part of efforts to create the largest artificial nature reserve in Europe.

Which underground station has the most platforms?

The London Underground trains were originally steam powered. 21. The station with the most platforms is Baker Street with 10 (Moorgate also has 10 platforms but only six are used by Tube trains – others are used by overground trains). 22.

IMPORTANT:  How is the NHS funded in the UK?

How many underground lines go under the Thames?

The District, Victoria, Northern, Bakerloo, and East London lines all run under the Thames, and the Underground sees approximately 4.8 million passenger journeys a day.

Is central line overground?

The Central line is a London Underground line that runs through central London, from Epping, Essex, in the north-east to Ealing Broadway and West Ruislip in the west.

Is Jubilee line overground?

The Jubilee line is a London Underground line that runs between Stratford in east London and Stanmore in the suburban north-west, via the Docklands, South Bank and West End. … Between Finchley Road and Wembley Park the Jubilee line shares its route with the Metropolitan line and Chiltern Main Line.

Is Metropolitan line overground?

The Metropolitan line, colloquially known as the Met, is a London Underground line between Aldgate in the City of London and Amersham and Chesham in Buckinghamshire, with branches to Watford in Hertfordshire and Uxbridge in Hillingdon.

How many stations are there in London?

London is a city with twelve major railway stations around the central area of the city. Each station has train services to different regions of the country. Cannon Street: Local stopping services to South East London, and outer suburban services to Kent.

What are all the stations in London?

London’s major stations

  • Waterloo.
  • Paddington.
  • King’s Cross.
  • St Pancras.
  • Euston.
  • Charing Cross.
  • Victoria.
  • London Bridge.

What are the names of the London Underground lines?

The system is composed of eleven lines – Bakerloo, Central, Circle, District, Hammersmith & City, Jubilee, Metropolitan, Northern, Piccadilly, Victoria, Waterloo & City – serving 272 stations. It is operated by Transport for London (TfL).

IMPORTANT:  Is British Summer Time the same as GMT?