Question: What country gained independence from Britain in 1947?

The Indian Independence Bill, which carves the independent nations of India and Pakistan out of the former Mogul Empire, comes into force at the stroke of midnight on August 15, 1947.

Which countries got independence after 1947?

Colonies, Protectorates and Mandates

Country Pre-independence name (different) Year of independence or first stage
India Hindustan,BharatVarsha 1947
Iraq 1932
Israel Mandatory Palestine 1948
Jamaica 1962

What gained independence from Britain?

By issuing the Declaration of Independence, adopted by the Continental Congress on July 4, 1776, the 13 American colonies severed their political connections to Great Britain. The Declaration summarized the colonists’ motivations for seeking independence.

Which country gained its independence from Great Britain first?

In 1939, Canada, South Africa, Australia and New Zealand were the first to be given independence within the Commonwealth. Since then a total of 62 countries have gained independence from the United Kingdom. This is followed by France with 28, Spain with 17, The Soviet Union with 16, Portugal with 7 and the USA with 5.

IMPORTANT:  Best answer: When did Britain control the Caribbean?

What country gained independence from Britain in 1973?

The flag of The Bahamas was officially hoisted on July 10, 1973, the date of the nation’s independence……

When did British gain independence?

Current territories

Within twenty years of the partition and independence in 1947 of British India (considered to be the most important colonial possession), most of the Empire’s territories had achieved full independence.

Which countries were Colonised by Britain?

These include Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, the Bahamas, Australia, Belize, Barbados, Canada, Grenada, Jamaica, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Solomon Islands and Tuvalu.

How many countries got freedom 1947?

On August 15, 1947, the British colonizers finally left India but divided the nation into two independent states- India and Pakistan. However, in addition to India, there are five other nations that celebrate their Independence on August 15 as well.

When did countries gain independence?


Country Date of acquisition of sovereignty Acquisition of sovereignty
Niger 4 December 1958 Autonomy within French Community
3 August 1960 Independence from France
Nigeria 1 October 1960 Independence from the United Kingdom
Rwanda 1 July 1962 Independence from Belgium

How many countries celebrate independence from Britain in July?

There are more than 20 countries that celebrate their independence in July. Some of these countries were colonized by Spain, Great Britain and France.

Which African country first gained independence and in what year?

In 1957 Ghana became the first African country to gain independence. Today in history: Ghana becomes first African country to gain independence from colonial rule, and more.

IMPORTANT:  What is the difference between British Indian Ocean Territory and British Virgin Islands?

What countries were in the British Empire in 1914?

On every Continent The main ones were Australia, British Guiana, Burma, Canada, Egypt, India (then including what are now Bangladesh, Nepal, and Pakistan), Jamaica, New Zealand, Rhodesia, South Africa and Trinidad.

Which is the first independent country in the world?

By many accounts, the Republic of San Marino, one of the world’s smallest countries, is also the world’s oldest country. The tiny country that is completely landlocked by Italy was founded on September 3rd in the year 301 BCE.

What happened in 1969 in the Bahamas?

This was followed in 1969 with the Colony of the Bahamas becoming the Commonwealth of the Bahamas thus opening the door for full independence. On July 10th 1973, after 300 years of being a colony, The Bahamas made the peaceful transition to nationhood by becoming an Independent Nation.

When did Barbados gain independence?

New Zealand officially became a separate colony within the British Empire, severing its link to New South Wales. North, South and Stewart islands were to be known respectively as the provinces of New Ulster, New Munster and New Leinster.