Quick Answer: Which area am I in for Scottish elections?

How many electoral regions are there in Scotland?

The parliament has 73 constituencies, each electing one Member of the Scottish Parliament (MSP) by the plurality (first past the post) system of voting, and eight additional member regions, each electing seven additional MSPs.

What are the regions in Scottish Parliament?


  • 2.1 Central Scotland.
  • 2.2 Glasgow.
  • 2.3 Highlands and Islands.
  • 2.4 Lothian / Lothians (1999–2011)
  • 2.5 Mid Scotland and Fife.
  • 2.6 North East Scotland.
  • 2.7 South of Scotland / South Scotland (2011)
  • 2.8 West of Scotland / West Scotland (2011)

What area is the Scottish Parliament in?

Since September 2004, the official home of the Scottish Parliament has been a new Scottish Parliament Building, in the Holyrood area of Edinburgh.

Which constituency is Ibrox in?

Boundaries. The Glasgow City wards of Cardonald, Crookston, Darnley, Drumoyne, Govan, Ibrox, Mosspark, Nitshill, North Cardonald, Penilee, and Pollok. The seat is one of seven covering the Glasgow City council area; none have overspill.

How many lists are there in Scotland?

For local government purposes, Scotland is divided into 32 areas designated as “council areas” (Scottish Gaelic: comhairlean), which are all governed by single-tier authorities designated as “councils”.

IMPORTANT:  Quick Answer: What is the largest plane that can land at London City Airport?

What are the Scottish constituencies?


Affiliation Members (current) Voteshare (GE 2019)
Scottish National Party 45 45.0%
Scottish Conservatives 6 25.1%
Scottish Liberal Democrats 4 9.5%
Alba Party 2 N/A

Where in Scotland is Holyrood?

Holyrood (/ˈhɒliruːd/; Scots: Halyruid, Scottish Gaelic: Taigh an Ròid) is an area in Edinburgh, the capital of Scotland, lying east of the city centre, at the foot of the Royal Mile.

How many constituencies are there in Scotland?

The review defined 19 burgh constituencies and 40 county constituencies, with each electing one MP. Therefore, Scotland has 59 parliamentary seats.

What is the regional vote?

In the regional vote, the voter votes for a specific party, but has no control over which candidates from the party are elected. On the other hand, in the constituency vote, the voter votes for a specific candidate rather than a party.

How are Scottish MPS elected?

In the Scottish Parliament, the inhabitants of Scotland are represented by 129 members of the Scottish Parliament (MSPs), who are elected by the additional member system, a form of proportional representation, by the Scottish Parliament constituencies and electoral regions.

What is the political structure in Scotland?

Edinburgh, Gaelic Dun Eideann, capital city of Scotland, located in southeastern Scotland with its centre near the southern shore of the Firth of Forth, an arm of the North Sea that thrusts westward into the Scottish Lowlands.

How many Glasgow constituencies are there?

There are 8 Glasgow constituencies represented at the Scottish Parliament: Glasgow Anniesland. Glasgow Cathcart.

Is Govan south side of Glasgow?

Govan (/ˈɡʌvən/ GUV-ən; Scottish Gaelic: Baile a’ Ghobhainn) is a district, parish, and former burgh now part of south-west City of Glasgow, Scotland. It is situated 2.5 miles (4.0 km) west of Glasgow city centre, on the south bank of the River Clyde, opposite the mouth of the River Kelvin and the district of Partick.

IMPORTANT:  Who was responsible for the establishment of the Anglican Church in Great Britain?

Is Glasgow in the south west of Scotland?

Glasgow is located on the banks of the River Clyde, in West Central Scotland.