What is the difference between British Indian Ocean Territory and British Virgin Islands?

Is British Virgin Islands same as British Indian Ocean Territory?

The British Virgin Islands (BVI), officially the Virgin Islands, are a British Overseas Territory in the Caribbean, to the east of Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands and north-west of Anguilla.

British Virgin Islands.

Virgin Islands
British capture 1672
Cooper Island sold to U.K. 1905
Separate colony 1960
Autonomy 1967

Is British Virgin Islands same as British?

The Virgin Islands, commonly referred to as the British Virgin Islands (BVI), is a British overseas territory located in the Caribbean to the east of Puerto Rico. … The Virgin Islands consist of the main islands of Tortola, Virgin Gorda, Anegada, and Jost Van Dyke, along with over fifty other smaller islands and cays.

Which country owns British Indian Ocean Territory?

British Indian Ocean Territory (BIOT), overseas territory of the United Kingdom in the central Indian Ocean, established in 1965. Since 1976 it has been coterminous with the Chagos Archipelago.

IMPORTANT:  What Animals Can you hunt with dogs in the UK?

Where is British Indian territory?

British Indian Ocean Territory lies in the Indian Ocean half way between Africa and Indonesia. It is an archipelago of 55 islands spread over 54,400 sq km of ocean. The islands are fairly flat, the highest point of Diego Garcia (the largest island) is 2 metres above sea level. The climate is hot, humid and windy.

What is the difference between the US Virgin Islands and the British Virgin Islands?

US Virgins Islands: Whats the Difference? The British Virgin Islands are a British Overseas territory while the U.S. Virgin Islands are a territory of the United States, meaning you will find the culture and customs of the two island groups similar but distinctive.

What nationality is British Indian Ocean Territory?

The British Indian Ocean Territory (BIOT), an archipelago of 58 islands covering some 640,000 sq km of ocean, is a British Overseas Territory. It is administered from London and is located approximately halfway between East Africa and Indonesia.

Can British citizens live in British Virgin Islands?

You may be wondering if British citizens may move to the British Virgin Islands. While they can move to the British Virgin Islands, they must request for long-term permission to stay just like any other foreigners, even if they have a UK passport.

Which Virgin Islands are British?

The British territory consists of 4 larger islands (Tortola, Anegada, Virgin Gorda, and Jost Van Dyke) and 32 smaller islands and islets, of which more than 20 are uninhabited; lesser islands include Great Tobago, Salt, Peter, Cooper, Norman, Guana, Beef, Great Thatch, Little Thatch, and Marina Cay.

IMPORTANT:  Frequent question: What percentage of energy does the UK import?

Do you need a passport to go to the British Virgin Islands?

Entry, Exit and Visa Requirements

Generally, all U.S. citizens are required to present a valid U.S. passport when traveling to the British Virgin Islands, as well as proof of anticipated departure from the British Virgin Islands. This includes travelers arriving by airplane and by private sea-going vessel.

Is Indian Ocean belongs to India?

The Indian Ocean is bounded by Iran, Pakistan, India, and Bangladesh to the north; the Malay Peninsula, the Sunda Islands of Indonesia, and Australia to the east; the Southern Ocean to the south; and Africa and the Arabian Peninsula to the west.

Can you go to British Indian Ocean Territory?

The British Indian Ocean Territory is not a tourist destination. Access is restricted and a permit is required in advance of travel. There are no commercial flights and permits for yachts are only issued to allow safe passage through the Indian Ocean (Outer Islands only).

Is Maldives in British Indian Ocean Territory?

The British Indian Ocean Territory has been under continuous British sovereignty since 1814. BIOT is close to the very centre of the Indian Ocean, mid-way between Tanzania and Indonesia. Its nearest neighbours are the Maldives and Sri Lanka.

What is the meaning of British Indian Ocean Territory?

The British Indian Ocean Territory (BIOT) is a British Overseas Territory of the United Kingdom situated in the Indian Ocean halfway between Tanzania and Indonesia. … The only inhabitants are British and U.S. military personnel and associated contractors, who collectively number around 3,000 (2018 figures).

IMPORTANT:  When am I tax resident in the UK?

Where is the Indian Ocean?

The Indian Ocean is a vast theater, stretching from the Strait of Malacca and western coast of Australia in the East to the Mozambique Channel in the West. It encompasses the Persian Gulf and the Arabian Sea in the North, all the way down to the southern Indian Ocean.

Which island is still a British colony?

The territories are now fully independent sovereign states, except for five – Anguilla, the British Virgin Islands, the Cayman Islands, Montserrat, and the Turks and Caicos Islands – which remain British Overseas Territories, as does Bermuda.

Further reading.

hide Authority control
Other National Archives (US)